The centerpiece of Piazza Navona, this fountain was designed in 1651 by Gian Lorenzo Bernini for Pope Innocent X whose family palace, the Palazzo Pamphili, faced onto the piazza. The statuary includes four river gods representing four great rivers on the four continents recognized by Renaissance geographers: the Nile in Africa, the Danube in Europe, the Ganges in Asia, and the Río de la Plata in the Americas. A 16 meter obelisk, originally built for the Roman Serapeum in AD 81, is in the center. At the top is Pamphili family emblem of a dove with an olive twig.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.